Commission on Mineral and Thermal Waters

Commission Eaux Minérales et Thermales



MINUTES OF THE 40nd SESSION

organized in Evian/France from 1st to 9th of October 2011

"Groundwater, Thermal and Mineral water in hard rock terrains: Contribution to the local development in the context of climate change"

Meeting site: Evian/France with excursions to French Alps, Massif Central and French Mediterranean Coast.

Prepared by Jan Dowgiałł, 2011

PARTICIPATION

MEMBERS

| No | Name | Country | e-mail | |
|----|--------------------------------|---------|--|--|
| 1 | BALDERER, WERNER (Chairman) | СН | balderer@erdw.ethz.ch | |
| 2 | IDRIS, HUSSEIN (dep. Chairman) | EGY | idris83@link.net | |
| 3 | DOWGIAŁŁO, JAN (hon. Chairman) | PL | dowgian@twarda.pan.pl | |
| 6 | LAMOREAUX, JAMES | USA | jlamoreaux@pela.com | |
| 7 | MOORE, JOHN | USA | moore123@aol.com | |
| 8 | SHUGG, ANDREW | AU | ashugg@skm.com.au | |
| 9 | VYLITA, TOMÁŠ | CZ | tomasvylita@seznam.cz info@geologie-vylita.cc | |
| 10 | CARELLA, Roberto | IT | - | |
| 11 | FERU, ADRIAN | RO | Adife2011@yahoo.com | |
| 12 | FÓRIZS, ISTVÁN | HU | forizs@geokemia.hu | |
| 13 | VON STORCH, KURT | GER | info@drvonstorch.com | |
| 14 | SHTEREV, KOSTADIN | BUL | shterev@aquaor-bg.com | |
| 15 | LACHASSAGNE, PATRICK | FR | Patrick.lachassagne@danone.com | |

ACCOMPANING PERSONS

| No | Name | Country | |
|----|--------------------------|---------|----------------------------------|
| 1 | LaMoreaux, Nicole, Mrs | USA | field session & cultural program |
| 2 | Balderer, Christina, Mrs | СН | field session & cultural program |

ABSENT MEMBERS

| Name | Country | Member / | Absent with |
|------------------------------|---------|-------------|-------------|
| | DT | Cand. Memb. | apologies |
| CALADO, Carlos | PT | M | |
| CRUZ, José Virgìlio | PT | CM | |
| CUCHI, Antonio | ES | M | |
| DEÁK, JÓZSEF | HU | M | |
| DOTSIKA, LIANA | GR | CM | |
| ECKSTEIN, YORAM | USA | M | |
| FRANCESCHI, Michel | FR | M | |
| FRICKE, Michael | FR | M | |
| HABERMEHL, Rien | AUS | M | |
| HERCH, Andrea | GER | M | |
| IBRAGIMOVA, Irada | AZN | M | |
| ISSAADI, Abderrahmane | ALG | M | |
| KRALJ, PETER (hon. Chairman) | SLO | M | |
| LAHERMO, Pertti. W. | FIN | M | |
| LAING, Colin | AUS | M | |
| LESMO, R. | IT | M | |
| LORBERER, ÁRPÁD | HU | M | |
| MARCIN, DANIEL | SK | M | |
| MELIORIS, Ladislav | SLO | М | |
| MICHEL, G. | GER | M | |
| PANG, Zhonghe | CHINA | M | |
| POROWSKI, ADAM (secretary) | PL | M | * |
| POUCHAN, Pierre | FR | М | |
| ROSENTHAL, Eliahu | IS | M | |
| RISLER, JEAN J. | FR | M | |
| RYBACH, L. | CH | M | * |
| SCHNEIDER, Jean | AUS | M | |
| SHAWKI, Abdine | ET | M | |
| TAHLAWI, Mohamed Ragaie El | EGY | M | * |
| VERDEIL, Pierre | FR | M | |
| VORONOV, ARKADY | RU | M | * |
| VYLITA, SEN. Bratislava | CZ | M | |
| ZUURDEG, Boudewijn | NL | M | |

ORGANIZING COMMITEE

Dr. Patrick Lachassagne (Vice President IAH French Chapter – CMTW candidate member)

Dr. W. Balderer (ETH- Zurich, IAH - CMTW Chairman)

Dr. Adam Porowski (IAH - CMTW Secretary)

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

Dr. Patrick Lachassagne (Vice President IAH French Chapter – CMTW candidate member)

Dr. W. Balderer (ETH- Zurich, IAH - CMTW Chairman)

Dr. Adam Porowski (IAH - CMTW Secretary)

Dr. D. H. Idris (IAH – CMTW)

Dr. D. J.J. Risler (IAH – CMTW)

CMTW Business Meeting, Volvic, France

October 5th 2011

- 1. The Chairman opened the meeting, welcomed the participants and asked them whether the proposed agenda may be accepted. The agenda has been accepted unanimously.
- 2. The Chairman informed that John Moore obtained the degree of Honorary Doctor in Ohio-Wesley University, USA. John spoke about his way to this honor. Participants of the meeting applauded him.
 - The Chairman informed that Ondrej Franko, one of the earliest members of the Commission passed away. Several CMTW members who knew him well expressed their sorrow. The meeting participants honored his memory by a minute of silence
- 3. The Chairman asked whether minutes of the previous CMTW meeting held in Kraków on 16 and 17 September 2010 may be accepted. The minutes have been accepted unanimously
- 4. The participants took note of the new organization of IAH (Commissions, Networks and Working Groups) approved by the Council at its meeting in Kraków, September 2010. Although the CMTW is not listed among new IAH Commissions, the Chairman is still hoping that his two proposals aimed at keeping it alive will be positively considered. Jan Dowgiałło underlined the necessity to show the Commisssion's activity by means of firm traces like common publications and other projects. The meeting participants unanimously declared their will to support the existence and activities of CMTW
- 5. As Werner Balderer is no longer willing to chair the Commission the necessity arose to elect a new CMTW Chairman. Two candidates were proposed, namely: James LaMoreaux and Adam Porowski As stated by Hussein Idris Adam Porowski informed him about the withdrawal of his candidature because of many other duties he has to fulfil in the forthcoming years. As result of a secret vote James LaMoreaux has been unanimously elected AIH CMTW Chairman He accepted this nomination, thanked the Commission members for their confidence and took over the chair
- 6. The results of secret voting for the remaining CMTW Board members were as follows:

Deputy Chairman - Werner Balderer (12 votes) Deputy Chairman - Hussein Idris (12 votes)

Secretary – Adam Porowski (10 votes)

- 7. Rules of new members admission were discussed. Adrian Feru underlined the necessity to introduct new firm rules of admission. It has been decided that the category of Candidate Member will no more be applied. To become Commission member, one has to be active in mineral and thermal waters research, their technical management etc. and to be accepted in secret voting by the CMTW community
- 8. Patrick Lachassagne has been unanimously accepted as CMTW member in accordance with the new rules. His high competence in the activity field of the Commission has been stressed and his excellent work in co-organizing and guiding the present CMTW meeting acknowledged. The new member expressed his gratitude and will to work actively on CMTW projects
- 9. As far as further meetings are concerned their venues in Iceland and New Zealand were considered. Istvan Forisz made the proposal on behalf of his own and his Hungarian colleagues to organize the 2012 Meeting in Hungary. The proposal was accepted by the majority of present members.
- 10. James LaMoreaux announced the decision of Springer Publishing House to publish a book including papers presented at the 41 CMTW Meeting (Egypt, 2009) and, perhaps, other books concerning the mineral and thermal waters issues
- 11. As far further activities of the CMTW are concerned,
- 12. the Business Meeting participants decided that respective decisions will be taken only after the last proposal of the past Chairman Werner Balderer is accepted or rejected by the IAH Council
- 13. No other suggestions were made by the Business Meeting participants
- 14. The Chairman James LaMoreaux thanked the present CMTW members or their active participation and closed the Business Meeting